In light of the public health situation, Parliament Buildings is closed to the public.

No public tours, events or visitor activities will take place, until further notice. 

Assembly business continues, check the business diary for information on Plenary and Committee meetings.

Official Report: Minutes of Evidence

Committee for Health, meeting on Thursday, 14 January 2021

Members present for all or part of the proceedings:

Mrs Pam Cameron (Deputy Chairperson)
Ms Paula Bradshaw
Mr Jonathan Buckley
Mr Gerry Carroll
Mr Alan Chambers
Ms Órlaithí Flynn
Ms Cara Hunter
Mr Pat Sheehan


Ms Elaine Colgan, Department of Health
Ms Gillian Hynes, Department of Health

Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (Amendment No. 26) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2020

The Acting Chairperson (Ms Bradshaw): Statutory rule 2020/344 removes Namibia, Uruguay and the US Virgin Islands from the list of countries and territories in respect of which travellers are exempt from the requirement to self-isolate for 10 days after arrival in Northern Ireland. Have members any further issues that they wish to raise in connection with this statutory rule.

Again, can this be subject to deferral?

The Committee Clerk: This is a separate SR and does not relate to the move to 10 days. It just adds to the list of countries that various rules apply to.

The Acting Chairperson (Ms Bradshaw): Are members content with that SR? Do members formally agree that the Committee for Health has considered SR 2020/344, the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (Amendment No. 26) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2020, and has no objection to the rule?

Members indicated assent.

Find Your MLA


Locate your local MLA.

Find MLA

News and Media Centre


Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly


Keep up to date with what’s happening at the Assem

Find out more



Enter your email address to keep up to date.

Sign up