Election of Speaker Nomination 1 - Mr Edwin Poots

Election of Speaker Nomination 1 - Mr Edwin Poots
Mr Edwin Poots Proposed by: Mr Keith Buchanan Seconded by: Ms Joanne Bunting
Private Members' Motion
View Official Report

76 Members voted, of which 67 voted AYE [88.2%]

33 Nationalists voted, of which 25 voted AYE [75.8%]

26 Unionists voted, of which 25 voted AYE [96.2%]

17 Others voted, of which 17 voted AYE [100%]

The Motion Was Carried By Cross Community Consent, Cross-Community Lobby Division

MLA NameDesignationVoted
Mr Jim Allister KC UnionistNO
Dr Caoimhe Archibald NationalistAYE
Ms Kellie Armstrong OtherAYE
Mr Danny Baker NationalistAYE
Mr John Blair OtherAYE
Mr Cathal Boylan NationalistAYE
Mr Maurice Bradley UnionistAYE
Ms Paula Bradshaw OtherAYE
Mr Phillip Brett UnionistAYE
Miss Nicola Brogan NationalistAYE
Mr David Brooks UnionistAYE
Ms Cheryl Brownlee UnionistAYE
Mr Patrick Brown OtherAYE
Mr Keith Buchanan UnionistAYE
Mr Tom Buchanan UnionistAYE
Mr Jonathan Buckley UnionistAYE
Ms Joanne Bunting UnionistAYE
Mrs Pam Cameron UnionistAYE
Mr Pádraig Delargy NationalistAYE
Mr Stewart Dickson OtherAYE
Mrs Linda Dillon NationalistAYE
Mrs Diane Dodds UnionistAYE
Miss Jemma Dolan NationalistAYE
Mr Danny Donnelly OtherAYE
Mr Stephen Dunne UnionistAYE
Mr Mark Durkan NationalistNO
Mr Alex Easton UnionistAYE
Ms Sorcha Eastwood OtherAYE
Ms Connie Egan OtherAYE
Mrs Sinéad Ennis NationalistAYE
Mrs Deborah Erskine UnionistAYE
Mrs Ciara Ferguson NationalistAYE
Miss Órlaithí Flynn NationalistAYE
Ms Diane Forsythe UnionistAYE
Mr Paul Frew UnionistAYE
Mr Colm Gildernew NationalistAYE
Mr Paul Givan UnionistAYE
Miss Deirdre Hargey NationalistAYE
Mr Harry Harvey UnionistAYE
Mr David Honeyford OtherAYE
Ms Cara Hunter NationalistNO
Mr William Irwin UnionistAYE
Mr Gerry Kelly NationalistAYE
Ms Liz Kimmins NationalistAYE
Mr Brian Kingston UnionistAYE
Mrs Emma Little-Pengelly UnionistAYE
Mrs Naomi Long OtherAYE
Mr Gordon Lyons UnionistAYE
Mr Declan McAleer NationalistAYE
Miss Nuala McAllister OtherAYE
Mr Daniel McCrossan NationalistNO
Mr Patsy McGlone NationalistNO
Mr Colin McGrath NationalistNO
Mr Philip McGuigan NationalistAYE
Mr Maolíosa McHugh NationalistAYE
Ms Sinéad McLaughlin NationalistNO
Mr Justin McNulty NationalistNO
Mr Peter McReynolds OtherAYE
Mr Nick Mathison OtherAYE
Mr Gary Middleton UnionistAYE
Mr Andrew Muir OtherAYE
Ms Sian Mulholland OtherAYE
Miss Áine Murphy NationalistAYE
Mr Conor Murphy NationalistAYE
Ms Carál Ní Chuilín NationalistAYE
Ms Kate Nicholl OtherAYE
Mr John O'Dowd NationalistAYE
Ms Michelle O'Neill NationalistAYE
Mr Matthew O'Toole NationalistNO
Mr Edwin Poots UnionistAYE
Ms Aisling Reilly NationalistAYE
Mr Alan Robinson UnionistAYE
Mr Pat Sheehan NationalistAYE
Ms Emma Sheerin NationalistAYE
Ms Claire Sugden UnionistAYE
Mr Eóin Tennyson OtherAYE

Find Your MLA


Locate your local MLA.

Find MLA

News and Media Centre


Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly


Keep up to date with what’s happening at the Assem

Find out more



Enter your email address to keep up to date.

Sign up