Post-Primary Transfer Process

Post-Primary Transfer Process
That this Assembly notes that a solution to the post-primary transfer process has not been found; further notes that a one size fits all educational system will not work; believes that it is becoming increasingly unacceptable that, every year, thousands of young people are sitting unregulated transfer tests and that primary schools are placed in the difficult position of mediating between parental demand and Department of Education policies; further believes that the ongoing politicking of the issue does not address the seriousness of the matter; and calls on the Minister of Education to convene talks with all the major stakeholders in order to build consensus and agree a way forward on the issue.
Private Members' Motion
View Official Report

79 Members voted

55 Members voted AYE

24 Members voted NO

The Motion Was Carried, Simple Majority Lobby Division

MLA NameDesignationVoted
Mr Steven Agnew OtherAYE
Mr Jim Allister UnionistAYE
Mr Sydney Anderson UnionistAYE
Mr Jonathan Bell UnionistAYE
Mr Cathal Boylan NationalistNO
Ms Michaela Boyle NationalistNO
Mr Dominic Bradley NationalistAYE
Ms Paula Bradley UnionistAYE
Mr Thomas Buchanan UnionistAYE
Mrs Pam Cameron UnionistAYE
Mr Trevor Clarke UnionistAYE
Mr Jonathan Craig UnionistAYE
Mr Leslie Cree MBE UnionistAYE
Mr Stewart Dickson OtherAYE
Mrs Jo-Anne Dobson UnionistAYE
Mr Sammy Douglas MBE, MCA UnionistAYE
Mr Gordon Dunne UnionistAYE
Mr Mark Durkan NationalistAYE
Mr Alex Easton UnionistAYE
Mr Colum Eastwood NationalistAYE
Ms Megan Fearon NationalistNO
Mr Phil Flanagan NationalistNO
Mrs Arlene Foster UnionistAYE
Mr Paul Frew UnionistAYE
Mr Samuel Gardiner MBE UnionistAYE
Mr Paul Girvan UnionistAYE
Mr Simon Hamilton UnionistAYE
Ms Claire Hanna NationalistAYE
Mr Chris Hazzard NationalistNO
Mr David Hilditch UnionistAYE
Mr William Humphrey UnionistAYE
Mr William Irwin UnionistAYE
Mr Gerry Kelly NationalistNO
Mr Danny Kennedy UnionistAYE
Ms Anna Lo MBE OtherAYE
Mr Trevor Lunn OtherAYE
Mr Gordon Lyons UnionistAYE
Mr Chris Lyttle OtherAYE
Mr John McCallister UnionistAYE
Mr Fra McCann NationalistNO
Ms Jennifer McCann NationalistNO
Mr Kieran McCarthy OtherAYE
Mr Raymond McCartney NationalistNO
Ms Rosaleen McCorley NationalistNO
Mr Basil McCrea UnionistAYE
Mr Ian McCrea UnionistAYE
Mr Barry McElduff NationalistNO
Ms Bronwyn McGahan NationalistNO
Mr Michael McGimpsey UnionistAYE
Mr Patsy McGlone NationalistAYE
Mr David McIlveen UnionistAYE
Miss Michelle McIlveen UnionistAYE
Mr Daithí McKay NationalistNO
Mr Fearghal McKinney NationalistAYE
Ms Maeve McLaughlin NationalistNO
Mr Oliver McMullan NationalistNO
Mr Adrian McQuillan UnionistAYE
Mr Alex Maskey NationalistNO
Mr Ian Milne NationalistNO
Mr Stephen Moutray UnionistAYE
Mr Mike Nesbitt UnionistAYE
Mr Robin Newton UnionistAYE
Ms Carál Ní Chuilín NationalistNO
Mr Cathal Ó hOisín NationalistNO
Mr Máirtín Ó Muilleoir NationalistNO
Mr John O'Dowd NationalistNO
Mrs Michelle O'Neill NationalistNO
Mrs Sandra Overend UnionistAYE
Mrs Emma Pengelly UnionistAYE
Mr Pat Ramsey NationalistAYE
Mr George Robinson MBE UnionistAYE
Mr Seán Rogers NationalistAYE
Mr Alastair Ross UnionistAYE
Ms Caitríona Ruane NationalistNO
Mr Pat Sheehan NationalistNO
Mr Neil Somerville UnionistAYE
Ms Claire Sugden UnionistAYE
Mr Robin Swann UnionistAYE
Mr Peter Weir UnionistAYE

Find Your MLA


Locate your local MLA.

Find MLA

News and Media Centre


Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly


Keep up to date with what’s happening at the Assem

Find out more



Enter your email address to keep up to date.

Sign up